Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Single bacteria identification by Raman spectroscopy
Author(s): Samy Andrea Strola; Jean-Charles Baritaux; Emmanuelle Schultz; Anne Catherine Simon; Cédric Allier; Isabelle Espagnon; Dorothée Jary; Jean-Marc Dinten
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We report on rapid identification of single bacteria using a low-cost, compact, Raman spectroscope. We demonstrate that a 60-s procedure is sufficient to acquire a comprehensive Raman spectrum in the range of 600 to 3300  cm−1. This time includes localization of small bacteria aggregates, alignment on a single individual, and spontaneous Raman scattering signal collection. Fast localization of small bacteria aggregates, typically composed of less than a dozen individuals, is achieved by lensfree imaging over a large field of view of 24  mm2. The lensfree image also allows precise alignment of a single bacteria with the probing beam without the need for a standard microscope. Raman scattered light from a 34-mW continuous laser at 532 nm was fed to a customized spectrometer (prototype Tornado Spectral Systems). Owing to the high light throughput of this spectrometer, integration times as low as 10 s were found acceptable. We have recorded a total of 1200 spectra over seven bacterial species. Using this database and an optimized preprocessing, classification rates of ∼90% were obtained. The speed and sensitivity of our Raman spectrometer pave the way for high-throughput and nondestructive real-time bacteria identification assays. This compact and low-cost technology can benefit biomedical, clinical diagnostic, and environmental applications.

Paper Details

Date Published: 16 July 2014
PDF: 13 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 19(11) 111610 doi: 10.1117/1.JBO.19.11.111610
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 19, Issue 11
Show Author Affiliations
Samy Andrea Strola, MINATEC (France)
Jean-Charles Baritaux, MINATEC (France)
Emmanuelle Schultz, MINATEC (France)
Anne Catherine Simon, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Cédric Allier, MINATEC (France)
Isabelle Espagnon, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Dorothée Jary, MINATEC (France)
Jean-Marc Dinten, MINATEC (France)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top