Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Intracellular viscoelasticity of HeLa cells during cell division studied by video particle-tracking microrheology
Author(s): Yin-Quan Chen; Chia-Yu Kuo; Ming-Tzo Wei; Kelly Wu; Pin-Tzu Su; Chien-Shiou Huang; Arthur E. Chiou
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Cell division plays an important role in regulating cell proliferation and differentiation. It is managed by a complex sequence of cytoskeleton alteration that induces dividing cells to change their morphology to facilitate their division. The change in cytoskeleton structure is expected to affect the intracellular viscoelasticity, which may also contribute to cellular dynamic deformation during cell division. However, the intracellular viscoelasticity during cell division is not yet well understood. In this study, we injected 100-nm (diameter) carboxylated polystyrene beads into the cytoplasm of HeLa cells and applied video particle tracking microrheology to measure their intracellular viscoelasticity at different phases during cell division. The Brownian motion of the intracellular nanoprobes was analyzed to compute the viscoelasticity of HeLa cells in terms of the elastic modulus and viscous modulus as a function of frequency. Our experimental results indicate that during the course of cell division, both intracellular elasticity and viscosity increase in the transition from the metaphase to the anaphase, plausibly due to the remodeling of cytoskeleton and redistributions of molecular motors, but remain approximately the same from the anaphase to the telophase.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 July 2013
PDF: 6 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 19(1) 011008 doi: 10.1117/1.JBO.19.1.011008
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 19, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Yin-Quan Chen, National Yang-Ming Univ. (Taiwan)
Chia-Yu Kuo, National Yang-Ming Univ. (Taiwan)
Ming-Tzo Wei, Lehigh Univ. (United States)
Kelly Wu, Columbia Univ. (United States)
Pin-Tzu Su, National Yang-Ming Univ. (Taiwan)
Chien-Shiou Huang, National Yang-Ming Univ. (Taiwan)
Arthur E. Chiou, National Yang-Ming Univ. (Taiwan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top