Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Optical coherence tomography in vulvar intraepithelial neoplasia
Author(s): Ronni Wessels; Daniel M. de Bruin; Dirk J. Faber; Hester H. van Boven; Andrew D. Vincent; Ton G. van Leeuwen; Marc van Beurden; Theo J. M. Ruers
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Vulvar squamous cell carcinoma (VSCC) is a gynecological cancer with an incidence of two to three per 100,000 women. VSCC arises from vulvar intraepithelial neoplasia (VIN), which is diagnosed through painful punch biopsy. In this study, optical coherence tomography (OCT) is used to differentiate between normal and VIN tissue. We hypothesize that (a) epidermal layer thickness measured in OCT images is different in normal tissue and VIN, and (b) quantitative analysis of the attenuation coefficient (μoct) extracted from OCT data differentiates VIN from normal vulvar tissue. Twenty lesions from 16 patients are imaged with OCT. Directly after data acquisition, a biopsy is performed. Epidermal thickness is measured and values of μoct are extracted from 200 OCT scans of normal and VIN tissue. For both methods, statistical analysis is performed using Paired Mann-Whitney-test. Correlation between the two methods is tested using a Spearman-correlation test. Both epidermal layer thickness as well as the μoct are different between normal vulvar tissue and VIN lesions (p<0.0001). Moreover, no correlation is found between the epidermal layer thickness and μoct. This study demonstrates that both the epidermal thickness and the attenuation coefficient of vulvar epithelial tissue containing VIN are different from that of normal vulvar tissue.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 November 2012
PDF: 6 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 17(11) 116022 doi: 10.1117/1.JBO.17.11.116022
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 17, Issue 11
Show Author Affiliations
Ronni Wessels, Het Nederlands Kanker Instituut - Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Ziekenhuis (Netherlands)
Daniel M. de Bruin, Academisch Medisch Ctr. (Netherlands)
Dirk J. Faber, Academisch Medisch Ctr. (Netherlands)
Hester H. van Boven, The Netherlands Cancer Institute (Netherlands)
Andrew D. Vincent, The Netherlands Cancer Institute (Netherlands)
Ton G. van Leeuwen, Academisch Medisch Ctr. (Netherlands)
Marc van Beurden, Het Nederlands Kanker Instituut - Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Ziekenhuis (Netherlands)
Theo J. M. Ruers, The Netherlands Cancer Institute (Netherlands)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top