Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Novel technologies for 1.55-um vertical cavity lasers
Author(s): Klaus P. Streubel; Mattias Hammar; F. Salomonsson; J. Bentell; Sebastian Mogg; S. Rapp; Joel Jacquet; J. Boucart; Christophe Starck; Antonina Plais; F. Gaborit; E. Derouin; N. Bouche; Alok P. Rudra; Alexei V. Syrbu; Vladimir P. Iakovlev; Claude-Albert Berseth; O. Dehaese; Eli E. Kapon; H. Moussa; Isabelle Sagnes; R. Raj
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We report on three novel vertical-cavity laser (VCL) structures for 1.55-?m operation. Two of the structures utilize an n-type GalnAsP/ InP Bragg mirror combined with an Al(Ga)As/GaAs mirror using either wafer fusion or metamorphic epitaxial growth. The third employs two wafer-fused AlGaAs/GaAs mirrors, in which lateral current confinement is obtained by localized fusion of the p mirror. All three VCLs use strained GalnAsP quantum wells as active material and achieve continuous-wave (cw) operation at room temperature or above. The single fused VCL operates up to 17 and 101°C in continuous-wave and pulsed mode, respectively. The monolithic VCL-structure with a metamorphic GaAs/AlAs n-type mirror uses a reverse-biased tunnel junction for current injection. This laser achieves record high output power (1 mW) at room temperature and operates cw up to 45°C. The double fused VCLs with a 10x 10-?m2 active area operate cw up to 30°C with threshold current as low as 2.5 mA and series resistance of 30 H. The emission spectra exhibit a single lasing mode polarized with 30-dB extinction ratio and a spectral linewidth of 150 MHz.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 February 2000
PDF: 10 pages
Opt. Eng. 39(2) doi: 10.1117/1.602387
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 39, Issue 2
Show Author Affiliations
Klaus P. Streubel, Osram Opto Semiconductors (Germany)
Mattias Hammar, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
F. Salomonsson, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
J. Bentell, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Sebastian Mogg, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
S. Rapp, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Joel Jacquet, Alcatel Alsthom Recherche (France)
J. Boucart, Alcatel Corp. Research Ctr. (France)
Christophe Starck, Alcatel Corp. Research Ctr. (France)
Antonina Plais, Alcatel Alsthom Recherche (France)
F. Gaborit, Alcatel Corp. Research Ctr. (France)
E. Derouin, Alcatel Corp. Research Ctr. (France)
N. Bouche, Alcatel Corp. Research Ctr. (France)
Alok P. Rudra, Ecole Polytechnique Federale (Switzerland)
Alexei V. Syrbu, Technical Univ. of Moldova (Switzerland)
Vladimir P. Iakovlev, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (Switzerland)
Claude-Albert Berseth, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (Switzerland)
O. Dehaese, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (Switzerland)
Eli E. Kapon, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Switzerland)
H. Moussa, France Telecom/CNET/DTD/CDP (France)
Isabelle Sagnes, France Telecom/CNET/DTD/CDP (France)
R. Raj, France Telecom/CNET/DTD/CDP (France)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top