Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Use of micro-electro-mechanical deformable mirrors to control aberrations in optical systems: theoretical and experimental results
Author(s): Michael C. Roggemann; Victor M. Bright; Byron M. Welsh; Shaun R. Hick; Peter C. Roberts; William D. Cowan; John H. Comtois
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Micro-electro-mechanical deformable mirrors (MEM-DMs) are solid-state electronic devices with small, movable reflective surface elements that can be used to manipulate the phase of optical wavefronts. MEM-DMs differ from more conventional continuous-facesheet deformable mirrors in that the movable surface of a MEM-DM consists of a set of segmented moving surfaces. The segmented, reflective surfaces of a MEM-DM give rise to larger diffraction effects than those provided by continuous-facesheet deformable mirrors. However, MEM-DMs are still attractive due to their low cost and the low drive voltages. We explore the theoretical limits of performance of MEM-DMs for controlling fixed aberrations in optical systems, and we present laboratory results demonstrating reduction of a fixed aberration using a MEM-DM device. Results presented here show that while a MEM-DM does provide some degree of aberration control, diffraction effects arising from the static support structures of the MEM-DM surface are significant. An alternative design that uses a lenslet array in conjunction with the MEM-DM is shown through theoretical studies to provide superior aberration correction with lower residual effects due to diffraction.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 May 1997
PDF: 13 pages
Opt. Eng. 36(5) doi: 10.1117/1.601355
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 36, Issue 5
Show Author Affiliations
Michael C. Roggemann, Air Force Institute of Technology (United States)
Victor M. Bright, Air Force Institute of Technology (United States)
Byron M. Welsh, Air Force Institute of Technology (United States)
Shaun R. Hick, Air Force Institute of Technology (Canada)
Peter C. Roberts, Air Force Institute of Technology (United States)
William D. Cowan, Air Force Institute of Technology (United States)
John H. Comtois, Air Force Institute of Technology (United States)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top