Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

X-ray tube voltage dependence of Wiener spectra of quantum mottle obtained by determining detective quantum efficiencies of a screen
Author(s): Hidetaka Arimura; Takeshi Ikari; Mitsuhide Okamoto; Nobuyuki Nakamori; Hitoshi Kanamori; Hideaki Kubota; Masao Matsumoto; Atsushi Takigawa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

By using the detective quantum efficiency (DQE), which represents the transfer efficiencies of the signal and noise, we expressed the Wiener spectrum of the quantum mottle. Using the new equation of the quantum mottle and the equation of the structure mottle proposed in 1992, we modified our method for separating the screen mottle, and proposed a new method for obtaining the DQE. Using the new method, we experimentally obtained the tube voltage dependence of the DQE, and the density and tube voltage dependence of the Wiener spectra of the quantum mottle. To explain the tube voltage dependence of the DQEs at a spatial frequency of 0 mm-1, we theoretically obtained the tube voltage dependence of the first and second moments of x-ray photon spectra absorbed by the screen. We found that the tube voltage dependence of the DQEs was caused by the fact that the output signal from the screen varied only slightly with tube voltage, while the output noise increased. Using the tube voltage dependence of the DQEs and the number of x-ray photons incident on the screens, we explain the dependence of the Wiener spectral values of the quantum mottle.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 April 1996
PDF: 12 pages
Opt. Eng. 35(4) doi: 10.1117/1.601008
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 35, Issue 4
Show Author Affiliations
Hidetaka Arimura, Shimadzu Corp. (Japan)
Takeshi Ikari, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Mitsuhide Okamoto, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Nobuyuki Nakamori, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Hitoshi Kanamori, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Hideaki Kubota, Shiga Univ. (Japan)
Masao Matsumoto, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Atsushi Takigawa, Osaka Univ. (Japan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top