Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Developmental long-trace profiler using optimally aligned mirror-based pentaprism
Author(s): Samuel K. Barber; Gregory Y. Morrison; Valeriy V. Yashchuk; Mikhail V. Gubarev; Ralf D. Geckeler; Jana Buchheim; Frank Siewert; Thomas Zeschke
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

A low-budget surface slope-measuring instrument, the developmental long-trace profiler (DLTP), was recently brought into operation at the Advanced Light Source Optical Metrology Laboratory. The instrument is based on a precisely calibrated autocollimator and a movable pentaprism. The capability of the DLTP to achieve submicroradian surface slope metrology has been verified via cross-comparison measurements to other high-performance slope-measuring instruments when measuring the same high-quality test optics. Further improvement of the DLTP is achieved by replacing the existing bulk pentaprism with a specially designed mirror-based pentaprism, which offers the possibility to eliminate systematic errors introduced by inhomogeneity of the optical material and fabrication imperfections of a bulk pentaprism. We provide the details of the mirror-based pentaprism design and describe an original experimental procedure for precision mutual alignment of the mirrors. The algorithm of the alignment procedure and its efficiency are verified with rigorous ray-tracing simulations. Results of measurements of a spherically curved test mirror and a flat test mirror using the original bulk pentaprism are compared to measurements using the new mirror-based pentaprism, demonstrating the improved performance.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 May 2011
PDF: 11 pages
Opt. Eng. 50(5) 053601 doi: 10.1117/1.3572113
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 50, Issue 5
Show Author Affiliations
Samuel K. Barber, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Gregory Y. Morrison, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Valeriy V. Yashchuk, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Mikhail V. Gubarev, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Ralf D. Geckeler, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Jana Buchheim, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH (Germany)
Frank Siewert, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH (Germany)
Thomas Zeschke, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH (Germany)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top