Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Error characteristics of magnetic field in depolarized interferometric fiber optic gyroscope
Author(s): Lihui Wang; Yuping Lu; Yang Xu; Zhixin Yang; Lei Zhao
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Random residual circular birefringence induced by a twist of single-mode fiber is the main cause of magnetic field Faraday phase error in depolarized interferometric fiber optic gyroscopes (D-IFOGs). Magnetic field Faraday phase error in D-IFOG includes both radial and axial phase errors; however, axial phase error has not been thoroughly researched and is usually neglected. A magnetic phase error model of D-IFOG along a radial direction is established by using a Jones matrix; then, the mathematical description of radial direction phase drift in D-IFOG is deduced according to the model. Based on a quadrupolar winding distribution structure in a fiber loop, a magnetic phase error model of D-IFOG along the axial direction is established, and phase drift in D-IFOG is deduced by using a coil expansion method. Theoretical analysis shows that nonreciprocal phase error in D-IFOG induced by magnetic field correlates with several factors, such as optical coherent length, optical polarization degree, etc. Then, measures to restrain the magnetic field phase error in D-IFOG are investigated, such as the new Lyot depolarizer, electromagnetic shielding, etc. Further, we experimentally present the performance of D-IFOG with the magnetic intensity of 150 Gs along axial and radial directions, respectively, and verify the effect of a new Lyot depolarizer on restraining magnetic phase error in D-IFOG.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 June 2010
PDF: 8 pages
Opt. Eng. 49(6) 064402 doi: 10.1117/1.3449111
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 49, Issue 6
Show Author Affiliations
Lihui Wang, Southeast Univ. (China)
Yuping Lu, Southeast Univ. (China)
Yang Xu, Southeast Univ. (China)
Zhixin Yang, Southeast Univ. (China)
Lei Zhao, Southeast Univ. (China)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top