Share Email Print

Journal of Nanophotonics

Magnetically operated nanorelay based on two single-walled carbon nanotubes filled with endofullerenes Fe@C20
Author(s): Nikolai A. Poklonski; Eugene F. Kislyakov; Sergey A. Vyrko; Nguyen Ngoc Hieu; Oleg N. Bubel; Andrei I. Siahlo; Irina V. Lebedeva; Andrey A. Knizhnik; Andrey M. Popov; Yurii E. Lozovik
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Structural and energy characteristics of the smallest magnetic endofullerene Fe@C20 have been calculated using the density functional theory approach. The ground state of Fe@C20 is found to be a septet state, and the magnetic moment of Fe@C20 is estimated to be 8 Bohr magnetons. Characteristics of an (8,8) carbon nanotube with a single Fe@C20 inside are studied in the framework of the semiempirical approach. The scheme of a magnetic nanorelay based on cantilevered nanotubes filled with magnetic endofullerenes is elaborated. The proposed nanorelay is turned on as a result of bending of nanotubes by a magnetic force. Operational characteristics of such a nanorelay based on (8,8) and (21,21) nanotubes fully filled with Fe@C20 are estimated and compared to the ones of a nanorelay made of a (21,21) nanotube fully filled with experimentally observed (Ho3N)@C80 with the magnetic moment of 21 Bohr magnetons. Room temperature operation of (21,21) nanotube based nanorelays is shown.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 April 2010
PDF: 19 pages
J. Nanophoton. 4(1) 041675 doi: 10.1117/1.3417104
Published in: Journal of Nanophotonics Volume 4, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Nikolai A. Poklonski, Belarusian State Univ. (Belarus)
Eugene F. Kislyakov, Belarusian State Univ. (Belarus)
Sergey A. Vyrko, Belarusian State Univ. (Belarus)
Nguyen Ngoc Hieu, Institute of Physics and Electronics (Viet Nam)
Oleg N. Bubel, Belarusian State Univ. (Belarus)
Andrei I. Siahlo, Belarusian State Univ. (Belarus)
Irina V. Lebedeva, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (Russian Federation)
Andrey A. Knizhnik, Kinetic Technologies Ltd. (Russian Federation)
Andrey M. Popov, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)
Yurii E. Lozovik, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top