Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Immunohistochemical investigation of wound healing in response to fractional photothermolysis
Author(s): Doris Helbig; Marc Oliver Bodendorf; Sonja Grunewald; Michael Kendler; Jan C. Simon; Uwe Paasch
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Despite growing clinical evidence of ablative fractional photothermolysis (AFP), little is known about the spatiotemporal molecular changes within the targeted compartments. Six subjects received three different single AFP treatments using a scanned 250 µm CO2-laser beam. Spatiotemporal changes of skin regeneration were estimated by immunohistochemical investigation (HSP70, HSP72, HSP47, TGFβ, procollagen III, CD3, CD20, and CD68) in skin samples 1 h, 3 days, and 14 days postintervention. The remodeling was uniformly started by regrowth of the epidermal compartment followed by partial to complete replacement of the microscopic ablation zones (MAZ) by newly synthesized condensed procollagen III. From day 3 to 14, the number of macrophages as well as giant cells surrounding the MAZ increased. TGFβ expression was highest 1 h to 3 days following AFP. HSP70 and HSP72 expressions were highest 3-14 days postintervention in the spinocellular layer leading to an upregulation of HSP47. AFP performed by a scanned CO2-laser results in an early epidermal remodeling, which is followed by a dermal remodeling leading to a replacement of the MAZ with newly synthesized (pro)-collagen. During this, an inflammatory infiltrate with CD3+ and CD20+ cells surrounds the MAZ. The count of macrophages and giant cells involved in the replacement of the necrotic zones seems to be crucial for wound healing.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 November 2009
PDF: 8 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 14(6) 064044 doi: 10.1117/1.3275479
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 14, Issue 6
Show Author Affiliations
Doris Helbig, Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (Germany)
Marc Oliver Bodendorf, Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (Germany)
Sonja Grunewald, Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (Germany)
Michael Kendler, Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (Germany)
Jan C. Simon, Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (Germany)
Uwe Paasch, Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (Germany)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top