Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Energy discriminating x-ray camera utilizing a cadmium telluride detector
Author(s): Eiichi Sato; Abderyim Purkhet; Hiroshi Matsukiyo; Akihiro Osawa; Toshiyuki Enomoto; Manabu Watanabe; Jiro Nagao; Seiitiro Nomiya; Keitaro Hitomi; Etsuro Tanaka; Toshiaki Kawai; Shigehiro Sato; Akira Ogawa; Jun Onagawa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

An energy-discriminating x-ray camera is useful for performing monochromatic radiography using polychromatic x rays. This x-ray camera was developed to carry out K-edge radiography using iodine-based contrast media. In this camera, objects are exposed by a cone beam from a cerium x-ray generator, and penetrating x-ray photons are detected by a cadmium telluride detector with an amplifier unit. The optimal x-ray photon energy and the energy width are selected out using a multichannel analyzer, and the photon number is counted by a counter card. Radiography was performed by the detector scanning using an x-y stage driven by a two-stage controller, and radiograms obtained by energy discriminating are shown on a personal computer monitor. In radiography, the tube voltage and current were 60 kV and 36 μA, respectively, and the x-ray intensity was 4.7 μGy/s. Cerium K-series characteristic x rays are absorbed effectively by iodine-based contrast media, and iodine K-edge radiography was performed using x rays with energies just beyond iodine K-edge energy 33.2 keV.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 July 2009
PDF: 7 pages
Opt. Eng. 48(7) 076502 doi: 10.1117/1.3183927
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 48, Issue 7
Show Author Affiliations
Eiichi Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Abderyim Purkhet, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Hiroshi Matsukiyo, The Toho Univ. (Japan)
Akihiro Osawa, The Toho Univ. (Japan)
Toshiyuki Enomoto, The Toho Univ. (Japan)
Manabu Watanabe, The Toho Univ. (Japan)
Jiro Nagao, The Toho Univ. (Japan)
Seiitiro Nomiya, Raytech Corp. (Japan)
Keitaro Hitomi, Tohoku Institute of Technology (Japan)
Etsuro Tanaka, Tokyo Univ. of Agriculture and Technology (Japan)
Toshiaki Kawai, Hamamatsu Photonics K.K. (Japan)
Shigehiro Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Akira Ogawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Jun Onagawa, Tohoku Gakuin Univ. (Japan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top