Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Soft stamp ultraviolet-nanoimprint lithography for fabrication of laser diodes
Author(s): Jukka Viheriala; Milla-Riina Viljanen; Juha Kontio; Tomi Leinonen; Juha Tommila; Mihail M. Dumitrescu; Tapio Niemi; Markus Pessa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We investigate a novel nanofabrication process called soft ultraviolet (UV) nanoimprint lithography (NIL), for nanopatterning of compound semiconductors. We use flexible stamps with three layers and analyze their performance with wafers composed of III-V semiconductors. The developed stamp configuration is in many ways advantageous for the fabrication of precise gratings for various applications in photonics. We describe how to handle the deformation in both lateral and vertical directions by tuning the softness of the stamp and using a two step imprint process. As an application of the UV-NIL, we demonstrate a fabrication process for a laterally corrugated distributed feedback laser. Our laser fabrication process is free from regrowth and therefore easily adaptable to various material compositions and emission wavelengths. Because of the cost-effective full-wafer NIL, these lasers are attractive in various applications where low-cost, single-mode laser diodes are required. Our development work improves the design freedom of the NIL fabrication process of the laser diodes and improves the quality of the transferred patterns. To the best in our knowledge, this is the first demonstration of a single-mode laser diode fabricated by soft UV-NIL.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 July 2009
PDF: 8 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. MEMS MOEMS 8(3) 033004 doi: 10.1117/1.3158307
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 8, Issue 3
Show Author Affiliations
Jukka Viheriala, Tampere Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Milla-Riina Viljanen, Tampere Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Juha Kontio, Tampere Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Tomi Leinonen, Tampere Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Juha Tommila, Tampere Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Mihail M. Dumitrescu, Tampere Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Tapio Niemi, Tampere Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Markus Pessa, Tampere Univ. of Technology (Finland)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top