Share Email Print

Journal of Nanophotonics

Lithographic and optical tuning of InGaAsP membrane photonic crystal nanocavities with embedded InAs quantum dots
Author(s): Mehmet Dundar; Frederic Bordas; Tom Eijkemans; Nicolas Chauvin; Andrei Yu. Silov; Richard Nötzel; Fouad Karouta; Andrea Fiore; Rob W. van der Heijden
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Hexagonal symmetry InGaAsP membrane type cavities with embedded InAs quantum dots as active emitters were investigated by room temperature photoluminescence experiments at wavelengths near 1.50 µm. Cavities consisting of simple defects of just removing one or seven air holes were studied as well as modified cavities with additional holes decreased in size and shifted in position. The latter include the H0 cavity, in which only two adjacent holes were modified, but none removed. Low-Q cavity modes were observed for the simple cavities while high-Q modes were observed after modification of the surrounding holes. The resonant frequencies were varied over a large range of lithographic parameters both by changing the lattice spacing or the size of the modified holes. More than 15 nm reversible dynamic optical tuning of the resonance modes was observed by changing the applied laser power up to 5 mW. For thermo-optic tuning, this corresponds to a heating of up to 200 °C.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 April 2009
PDF: 9 pages
J. Nanophoton. 3(1) 031765 doi: 10.1117/1.3124701
Published in: Journal of Nanophotonics Volume 3, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Mehmet Dundar, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Frederic Bordas, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Tom Eijkemans, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Nicolas Chauvin, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Andrei Yu. Silov, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Richard Nötzel, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Fouad Karouta, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Andrea Fiore, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Rob W. van der Heijden, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top