Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Fully automated deconvolution method for on-line analysis of time-resolved fluorescence spectroscopy data based on an iterative Laguerre expansion technique
Author(s): Aditi S. Dabir; Chintan Trivedi; Yeontack Ryu; Paritosh Pande; Javier A. Jo
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Time-resolved fluorescence spectroscopy (TRFS) is a powerful analytical tool for quantifying the biochemical composition of organic and inorganic materials. The potential of TRFS for tissue diagnosis has been recently demonstrated. To facilitate the translation of TRFS to the clinical arena, algorithms for online TRFS data analysis are essential. A fast model-free TRFS deconvolution algorithm based on the Laguerre expansion method has previously been introduced. One limitation of this method, however, is the need to heuristically select two parameters that are crucial for the accurate estimation of the fluorescence decay: the Laguerre parameter α and the expansion order. Here, a new implementation of the Laguerre deconvolution method is introduced, in which a nonlinear least-square optimization of the Laguerre parameter α is performed, and the optimal expansion order is selected based on a minimum description length criterion (MDL). In addition, estimation of the zero-time delay between the recorded instrument response and fluorescence decay is also performed based on normalized mean square error criterion (NMSE). The method is validated on experimental data from fluorescence lifetime standards, endogenous tissue fluorophores, and human tissue. The proposed automated Laguerre deconvolution method will facilitate online applications of TRFS, such as real-time clinical tissue diagnosis.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 March 2009
PDF: 13 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 14(2) 024030 doi: 10.1117/1.3103342
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 14, Issue 2
Show Author Affiliations
Aditi S. Dabir, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)
Chintan Trivedi, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)
Yeontack Ryu, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)
Paritosh Pande, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)
Javier A. Jo, Texas A&M Univ. (United States)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top