Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Translatory MEMS actuators for optical path length modulation in miniaturized Fourier-transform infrared spectrometers
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We present several types of translatory MOEMS actuators developed for fast optical-path-length modulation [e.g., in confocal microscopes or Fourier-transform infrared (FTIR) spectrometers] and their application on miniaturized FTIR spectrometers capable of performing time-resolved measurements from the near infrared to the mid infrared. The MOEMS devices are manufactured in a complementary metal oxide semi conductor compatible silicon-on-insulator process. They are electrostatically resonant, driven using in-plane comb drives. A first translatory 5-kHz MOEMS device is used in a first prototype of a miniaturized MOEMS-based FTIR spectrometer where the MOEMS actuator replaces the macroscopic mirror drive, enabling a miniaturized, robust, and low-cost FTIR system. The mirror plate of 1.65 mm2 is suspended by bending springs. Due to the resonant operation, a 200-µm stroke can be achieved with low voltages (<40 V) at an ambient pressure below 500 Pa. Consequently, this yields a spectral resolution of 25 cm-1 and an acquisition time of 200 µs per spectrum. In addition, we present a novel MOEMS device with an increased mirror aperture of 7.1 mm2 and pantograph-like mirror suspension enabling up to a 500-µm stroke. This device is specifically optimized for miniaturized FTIR spectrometers to enable an improved spectral resolution of 10 cm-1 and a signal-to-noise ratio of >1000:1.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 April 2008
PDF: 12 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. MEMS MOEMS 7(2) 021006 doi: 10.1117/1.2945227
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 7, Issue 2
Show Author Affiliations
Thilo Sandner, Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme (Germany)
Christian Drabe, Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme (Germany)
Harald Schenk, Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme (Germany)
Andreas Kenda, Carinthian Tech Research AG (Austria)
Werner Scherf, Carinthian Tech Research AG (Austria)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top