Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Translatory MEMS actuators for optical path length modulation in miniaturized Fourier-transform infrared spectrometers
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

We present several types of translatory MOEMS actuators developed for fast optical-path-length modulation [e.g., in confocal microscopes or Fourier-transform infrared (FTIR) spectrometers] and their application on miniaturized FTIR spectrometers capable of performing time-resolved measurements from the near infrared to the mid infrared. The MOEMS devices are manufactured in a complementary metal oxide semi conductor compatible silicon-on-insulator process. They are electrostatically resonant, driven using in-plane comb drives. A first translatory 5-kHz MOEMS device is used in a first prototype of a miniaturized MOEMS-based FTIR spectrometer where the MOEMS actuator replaces the macroscopic mirror drive, enabling a miniaturized, robust, and low-cost FTIR system. The mirror plate of 1.65 mm2 is suspended by bending springs. Due to the resonant operation, a 200-µm stroke can be achieved with low voltages (<40 V) at an ambient pressure below 500 Pa. Consequently, this yields a spectral resolution of 25 cm-1 and an acquisition time of 200 µs per spectrum. In addition, we present a novel MOEMS device with an increased mirror aperture of 7.1 mm2 and pantograph-like mirror suspension enabling up to a 500-µm stroke. This device is specifically optimized for miniaturized FTIR spectrometers to enable an improved spectral resolution of 10 cm-1 and a signal-to-noise ratio of >1000:1.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 April 2008
PDF: 12 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. 7(2) 021006 doi: 10.1117/1.2945227
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 7, Issue 2
Show Author Affiliations
Thilo Sandner, Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme (Germany)
Christian Drabe, Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme (Germany)
Harald Schenk, Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme (Germany)
Andreas Kenda, Carinthian Tech Research AG (Austria)
Werner Scherf, Carinthian Tech Research AG (Austria)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top