Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

In situ monitoring of second-harmonic generation in human corneas to compensate for femtosecond laser pulse attenuation in keratoplasty
Author(s): Valeria Nuzzo; Karsten Plamann; Michèle Savoldelli; Michele Merano; Davide Donate; Olivier Albert; Pedro filipe Gardeazabal Rodriguez; Gérard A. Mourou; Jean-Marc Legeais
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

The application of femtosecond lasers in corneal transplant surgery requires high pulse energies to compensate for the strong optical scattering in pathological corneas. However, excessive energies deteriorate the quality of the incisions. The aim of this study is to demonstrate the dependence of side effects on local radiant exposure, numerical aperture, and tissue properties, to quantify the penetration depth of the laser for individual corneas, and to provide a method for optimizing the energy in the volume of the cornea. We examine histological and ultrastructural sections of clear and edematous corneas with perforating and lamellar incisions performed at different pulse energies. We demonstrate that the augmented energies in edematous corneas may result in unwanted side effects even when using high numerical apertures. The dependence of the laser beam penetration depth on pulse energy is evaluated by histology and an exponential decrease is observed. We show that the penetration length can be determined by evaluating the backscattered second-harmonic emission associated with the nonlinear optical properties of the tissue. This approach represents a noninvasive method for the in situ quantification of the laser beam attenuation, enabling us to adapt the pulse energy accordingly. Experiments using adapted energies show that the side effects are minimized.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 November 2007
PDF: 11 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 12(6) 064032 doi: 10.1117/1.2811951
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 12, Issue 6
Show Author Affiliations
Valeria Nuzzo, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Techniques Avancées (France)
Karsten Plamann, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Techniques Avancées (France)
Michèle Savoldelli, Hôpital Hôtel Dieu (France)
Michele Merano, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Techniques Avancées (France)
Davide Donate, Hôpital Hôtel Dieu (France)
Olivier Albert, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Techniques Avancées (France)
Pedro filipe Gardeazabal Rodriguez, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Techniques Avancées (France)
Gérard A. Mourou, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Techniques Avancées (France)
Jean-Marc Legeais, Hôpital Hôtel Dieu (France)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top