Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Fluorescence and absorption assessment of a lipid mTHPC formulation following topical application in a non-melanotic skin tumor model
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Although the benefits of topical sensitizer administration have been confirmed for photodynamic therapy (PDT), ALA-induced protoporphyrin IX is the only sensitizer clinically used with this administration route. Unfortunately, ALA-PDT results in poor treatment response for thicker lesions. Here, selectivity and depth distribution of the highly potent sensitizer meso-tetra(hydroxyphenyl)chlorin (mTHPC), supplied in a novel liposome formulation was investigated following topical administration for 4 and 6 h in a murine skin tumor model. Extraction data indicated an average [± standard deviation (SD)] mTHPC concentration within lesions of 6.0(±3.1) ng/mg tissue with no significant difference (p<0.05) between 4- and 6-h application times and undetectable levels of generalized photosensitivity. Absorption spectroscopy and chemical extraction both indicated a significant selectivity between lesion and normal surrounding skin at 4 and 6 h, whereas the more sensitive fluorescence imaging setup revealed significant selectivity only for the 4-h application time. Absorption data showed a significant correlation with extraction, whereas the results from the fluorescence imaging setup did not correlate with the other methods. Our results indicate that this sensitizer formulation and administration path could be interesting for topical mTHPC-PDT, decreasing the effects of extended skin photosensitivity associated with systemic mTHPC administration.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 May 2007
PDF: 9 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 12(3) 034026 doi: 10.1117/1.2743080
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 12, Issue 3
Show Author Affiliations
Ann Johansson, Lunds Tekniska Högskola (Sweden)
Jenny Svensson, Lunds Tekniska Högskola (Sweden)
Niels Bendsøe, Lund Univ. Hospital (Sweden)
Katarina Svanberg, Lund Univ. Hospital (Sweden)
Eleni Alexandratou, National Technical Univ. of Athens (Greece)
Maria Kyriazi, National Technical Univ. of Athens (Greece)
Dido M. Yova, National Technical Univ. of Athens (Greece)
Susanna Gräfe, biolitec AG (Germany)
Tilmann A. Trebst, CeramOptec GmbH (Germany)
Stefan Andersson-Engels, Lunds Tekniska Högskola (Sweden)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top