Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Intense clean characteristic flash x-ray irradiation from an evaporating molybdenum diode
Author(s): Michiaki Sagae; Eiichi Sato; Etsuro Tanaka; Hidezo Mori; Toshiaki Kawai; Takashi Inoue; Akira Ogawa; Shigehiro Sato; Kazuyoshi Takayama; Jun Onagawa; Hideaki Ido
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In a flash x-ray generator, a 150-nF condenser is charged up to 80 kV by a power supply, and flash x-rays are produced by the discharge. The x-ray tube is a demountable diode, and the turbomolecular pump evacuates air from the tube with a pressure of approximately 1 mPa. Since the electric circuit of the high-voltage pulse generator employs a cable transmission line, the high-voltage pulse generator produces twice the potential of the condenser charging voltage. Because bremsstrahlung rays are not emitted in the opposite direction of that of electron trajectory, clean molybdenum K-series characteristic x-rays can be produced without using a filter. When the charging voltage is increased, the K-series characteristic x-ray intensities of molybdenum increase. The K lines are clean and intense, and hardly any bremsstrahlung rays are detected. The x-ray pulse widths are approximately 100 ns, and the time-integrated x-ray intensity has a value of approximately 500 µGy per pulse at 1.0 m from the x-ray source, with a charging voltage of 80 kV.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 February 2007
PDF: 7 pages
Opt. Eng. 46(2) 026502 doi: 10.1117/1.2541668
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 46, Issue 2
Show Author Affiliations
Michiaki Sagae, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Eiichi Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Etsuro Tanaka, Tokyo Univ. of Agriculture and Technology (Japan)
Hidezo Mori, National Cardiovascular Ctr. Research Institute (Japan)
Toshiaki Kawai, Hamamatsu Photonics K.K. (Japan)
Takashi Inoue, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Akira Ogawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Shigehiro Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Kazuyoshi Takayama, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Jun Onagawa, Tohoku Gakuin Univ. (Japan)
Hideaki Ido

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top