Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Geometrical characterization issues of plasmonic nanostructures with depth-tuned grooves for beam shaping
Author(s): Yongqi Fu; Wei Zhou; L. E. N. Lim; Chunlei Du; Xiangang Luo; Xiaochun Dong; Haofei Shi; Changtao Wang
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Design of an enhanced surface plasmon polaritons (SPPs)–based nanostructure for the purpose of beam shaping is discussed. An indentation with depth-tuned grooves is presented to realize the beam shaping and extraordinary transmission. The nanostructure is directly fabricated using focused ion beam (FIB) milling on an Ag thin film coated on quartz with a thickness of 200 nm. A large measurement error is found during geometrical characterization of the nanostructures by use of an atomic force microscope (AFM) working in tapping mode. Apex wearing and 34 deg full cone angle of the probe generate the measurement errors during the characterization of nanostructures with a feature size of 200 nm and below. To solve this problem, an FIB trimmed AFM probe is employed in the geometrical characterization. The results show that the error is improved greatly using the trimmed probe. The desired excitation of the SPPs is derived using an optical fiber coupled CCD spectrometer after the modified geometrical characterization. The designed structure can be used as an optical probe for future inspection and detection use.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 October 2006
PDF: 6 pages
Opt. Eng. 45(10) 108001 doi: 10.1117/1.2359443
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 45, Issue 10
Show Author Affiliations
Yongqi Fu, Nanyang Technological Univ. (Singapore)
Wei Zhou, Nanyang Technological Univ. (Singapore)
L. E. N. Lim, Nanyang Technological Univ. (Singapore)
Chunlei Du, Institute of Optics and Electronics (China)
Xiangang Luo, Institute of Optics and Electronics (China)
Xiaochun Dong, Institute of Optics and Electronics (China)
Haofei Shi, Institute of Optics and Electronics (China)
Changtao Wang, Institute of Optics and Electronics (China)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top