Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Monochromatic flash x-ray generator utilizing a disk-cathode silver tube
Author(s): Eiichi Sato; Yasuomi Hayasi; Rudolf K. F. Germer; Etsuro Tanaka; Hidezo Mori; Toshiaki Kawai; Takashi Inoue; Akira Ogawa; Shigehiro Sato; Toshio Ichimaru; Kazuyoshi Takayama; Jun Onagawa; Hideaki Ido
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The high-voltage condensers in a polarity-inversion two-stage Marx surge generator are charged from –50 to –70 kV by a power supply, and the electric charges in the condensers are discharged to an x-ray tube after closing gap switches in the surge generator with a trigger device. The x-ray tube is a demountable diode, and the turbomolecular pump evacuates air from the tube with a pressure of approximately 1 mPa. Clean silver K lines are produced using a 30-µm-thick palladium filter, since the tube utilizes a disk cathode and a rod target, and bremsstrahlung rays are not emitted in the opposite direction to that of electron acceleration. At a charging voltage of –70 kV, the instantaneous tube voltage and current are 90 kV and 0.8 kA, respectively. The x-ray pulse widths are approximately 80 ns, and the instantaneous number of generator-produced K photons is approximately 4×107photons/cm2 per pulse at 0.3 m from the source 3.0 mm in diameter.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 September 2005
PDF: 6 pages
Opt. Eng. 44(9) 096501 doi: 10.1117/1.2049248
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 44, Issue 9
Show Author Affiliations
Eiichi Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Yasuomi Hayasi, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Rudolf K. F. Germer, Technische Univ. Berlin (Germany)
Etsuro Tanaka, Tokyo Univ. of Agriculture and Technology (Japan)
Hidezo Mori, National Cardiovascular Ctr. Research Institute (Japan)
Toshiaki Kawai, Hamamatsu Photonics K.K. (Japan)
Takashi Inoue, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Akira Ogawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Shigehiro Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Toshio Ichimaru, Hirosaki Univ. (Japan)
Kazuyoshi Takayama, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Jun Onagawa, Tohoku Gakuin Univ. (Japan)
Hideaki Ido, Tohoku Gakuin Univ. (Japan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top