Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Parallel single molecule detection with a fully integrated single-photon 2×2 CMOS detector array
Author(s): Michael Gösch; Alexandre Serov; Alexis Rochas; Hans Blom; Tiemo Anhut; Pierre-Andre Besse; Radivoje Popovic; Theo Lasser; Rudolf Rigler
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

We present parallel single molecule detection (SMD) and fluorescence correlation spectroscopy (FCS) experiments with a fully integrated complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) single-photon 2×2 detector array. Multifocal excitation is achieved with a diffractive optical element (DOE). Special emphasis is placed on parallelization of the total system. The performance of the novel single-photon CMOS detector is investigated and compared to a state-of-the-art single-photon detecting module [having an actively quenched avalanche photodiode (APD)] by measurements on free diffusing molecules at different concentrations. Despite the order of magnitude lower detection efficiency of the CMOS detector compared to the state-of-the-art single-photon detecting module, we achieve single molecule sensitivity and reliably determine molecule concentrations. In addition, the CMOS detector performance for the determination of the fraction of slowly diffusing molecules in a primer solution (two-component analysis) is demonstrated. The potential of this new technique for high-throughput confocal-detection-based systems is discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 September 2004
PDF: 9 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 9(5) doi: 10.1117/1.1781668
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 9, Issue 5
Show Author Affiliations
Michael Gösch, Karolinska Institute (Sweden)
Alexandre Serov, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Switzerland)
Alexis Rochas, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Switzerland)
Hans Blom, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Tiemo Anhut, Fraunhofer-Institut Biomedizinische Technik (Germany)
Pierre-Andre Besse, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Switzerland)
Radivoje Popovic, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Switzerland)
Theo Lasser, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland)
Rudolf Rigler, Karolinska Institute (Sweden)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top