Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Fabrication and electro-optic characteristics of polymer-stabilized V-mode ferroelectric liquid crystal display and intrinsic H-V-mode ferroelectric liquid crystal displays: their application to field sequential fullcolor active matrix liquid crystal displays
Author(s): Shunsuke Kobayashi; Jun Xu; Hirokazu Furuta; Yuji Murakami; Satoru Kawamoto; Masafumi Ohkouchi; Hiroshi Hasebe; Haruyoshi Takatsu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

We fabricate ferroelectric liquid crystal display (FLCD) devices exhibiting a thresholdless V-shaped switching by adopting a mesogenic liquid crystal polymer stabilization and also FLCDs exhibiting half-V-shaped switching using an undoped FLC material. These FLCDs are respectively called polymer-stabilization (PS)-V-mode FLCDs and intrinsic H-V-mode FLCDs. By using especially developed polyimide materials such as RN-1199 and RN-1411 series (from Nissan Chem., Ind.) for the surface alignment and together with a well-controlled rubbing technique, photoalignment, and ion-beam alignment, we succeed in fabricating zigzag defect-free FLCDs. In particular, the PS-V-mode FLCD fabricated in this way exhibits continuous operation with a high contrast ratio of 700:1, and the intrinsic H-V-mode FLCD has good temperature stability by using the combined alignment technique. Particularly, a field-sequential full-color (FS-FC) LCD using PS-V-mode FLCD shows good long-term stability for a continual operation. Using these FLCDs, we also develop several prototype models of FS-FC active matrix LCDs with the specification of video graphics arrays (VGAs) and extended graphics arrays (XGAs), where we take advantage of their high-speed response (time constants 100 to 500 µs).

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 February 2004
PDF: 9 pages
Opt. Eng. 43(2) doi: 10.1117/1.1637362
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 43, Issue 2
Show Author Affiliations
Shunsuke Kobayashi, Tokyo Univ. of Science (Japan)
Jun Xu, Tokyo Univ. of Science, Yamaguchi (Japan)
Hirokazu Furuta, Tokyo Univ. of Science, Yamaguchi (Japan)
Yuji Murakami, Tokyo Univ. of Science, Yamaguchi (Japan)
Satoru Kawamoto, Tokyo Univ. of Science, Yamaguchi (Japan)
Masafumi Ohkouchi, Tokyo Univ. of Science, Yamaguchi (Japan)
Hiroshi Hasebe, Dainippon Ink & Chemicals, Inc. (Japan)
Haruyoshi Takatsu, Dainippon Ink & Chemicals, Inc. (Japan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top