Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Optical pumping of the XeF(C→A) and iodine 1.315-μm lasers by a compact surface discharge system
Author(s): Brent A. Knecht; Richard D. Fraser; D. J. Wheeler; C. J. Zietkiewicz; Andrey Aleksandrovich Senin; Leonid D. Mikheev; Vitaly S. Zuev; J. Gary Eden
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Details are provided regarding the design, construction, and performance of a compact (≈0.6-m2 footprint), single-channel surface discharge system and its application to optically pumping the XeF(C→A) and iodine atomic lasers in the blue-green (≈480 nm) and near infrared (1.315 μm), respectively. The system has a gain (active) length of ≈50 cm, and triggering the discharge requires no high-voltage or high-current switches. Measurements of the velocity of the photodissociation bleaching wave and the small-signal gain of the XeF(C→A) system are described. At 488 nm, the gain coefficient γ was found to be ≈0.3% cm–1, a value comparable to those reported previously for systems dissipating considerably higher power per unit length. Single-pulse energies <50 mJ from the XeF(C→A) laser (≈485 nm) and <0.7 J on the 5p 2P1/2→5p 2P3/2 transition of atomic iodine at 1.315 μm have been obtained with nonoptimized resonator output couplings (5% and 10%, respectively). The rate of erosion of the dielectric surface has been measured to be ≈0.1 to 0.3 μm/shot for a glass ceramic dielectric, and the performance of two electrical configurations for the ballasting pins (feedthrough and V) is compared.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 December 2003
PDF: 10 pages
Opt. Eng. 42(12) doi: 10.1117/1.1624849
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 42, Issue 12
Show Author Affiliations
Brent A. Knecht, Univ. of Illinois/Urbana-Champaign (United States)
Richard D. Fraser, Realized Technologies Inc. (United States)
D. J. Wheeler, Univ. of Illinois (United States)
C. J. Zietkiewicz, Melles Griot (United States)
Andrey Aleksandrovich Senin, Univ. of Illinois/Urbana-Champaign (United States)
Leonid D. Mikheev, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Vitaly S. Zuev, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
J. Gary Eden, Univ. of Illinois/Urbana-Champaign (United States)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top