Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Optical characteristics of PnpN optical thyristor operating at 1.55 um
Author(s): Doo-Gun Kim; Hee-Hyun Lee; Woon-Kyung Choi; Jung-Jun Lee; Young-Wan Choi; Sang Bae Lee; Deokha Woo; Young Tae Byun; Jung-Hee Kim; Sun-Ho Kim; N. Futakuchi; Yoshiaki Nakano
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

InGaAs/InP multiple quantum well (MQW) PnpN depleted optical thyristors (DOTs) operating at 1.55 μm are proposed and fabricated. To analyze their switching characteristics, we simulate nonlinear s-shape current-voltage curves using the finite difference method (FDM) associated with the current-oriented method. Using the FDM, we calculate the effects of such parameters as doping concentration and the thicknesses of the outer and inner layers of the thyristor to determine an optimized structure in the view of fast and low-power-consuming operation. With these results, we fabricate waveguide- and vertical-type InGaAs/InP MQW PnpN DOTs. The waveguide-type DOT shows sufficient nonlinear s-shape I-V characteristics with a switching voltage of 4.03 V and a holding voltage of 1.77 V, and spontaneous emission along the waveguide. The current-voltage characteristics of the vertical-type DOT are shown very well under 150 μW of input power, while the s-shape disappears at 200 μW.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 April 2003
PDF: 7 pages
Opt. Eng. 42(4) doi: 10.1117/1.1557160
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 42, Issue 4
Show Author Affiliations
Doo-Gun Kim, Chung-Ang Univ. (South Korea)
Hee-Hyun Lee, Chung-Ang Univ. (South Korea)
Woon-Kyung Choi, Chung-Ang Univ. (South Korea)
Jung-Jun Lee, Chung-Ang Univ. (South Korea)
Young-Wan Choi, Chung-Ang Univ. (South Korea)
Sang Bae Lee, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)
Deokha Woo, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)
Young Tae Byun, Korea Institute of Science & Technology (South Korea)
Jung-Hee Kim, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)
Sun-Ho Kim, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)
N. Futakuchi, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Yoshiaki Nakano, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top